Islands Trust announces recipients of the 2022 Community Stewardship Awards

Islands Trust Council announced the recipients of the 17th Islands Trust Community Stewardship Awards at its June 23nd meeting in Victoria, British Columbia. Trust Council recognized six individuals and one organization for work that supports the Islands Trust’s mandate to protect and preserve the Trust Area and its unique environment and amenities. The recipients’ activities include land conservation, trail network development, forest restoration, community service, collaborative stewardship, public outreach and education, and advocacy work.

“The Community Stewardship Awards are our opportunity to celebrate and acknowledge community members for their commitment of time, energy and ingenuity to helping preserve and protect the Islands Trust Area,” said Peter Luckham, Chair of the Islands Trust Council. “The diverse nature of the work of the nominees and the impacts of the projects in which they have been involved are outstanding. We drew inspiration from their dedication and effort.”

The recipients are from Bowen Island, Gabriola Island, Galiano Island and Salt Spring Island.

Individual Category

  • Keith Erickson, Galiano Island: Twenty Years of Ecosystem-Based Land Stewardship
  • Jeannine Georgeson, Galiano Island: Leadership in Collaborative Stewardship
  • Will Husby, Bowen Island: Thirty Years of Environmental Stewardship
  • Kees Ruurs, Salt Spring Island: Fourteen Years of Community Service
  • Ruth Waldick, Salt Spring Island: Building Lake Maxwell’s Watershed Resiliency and Forest Fire Resilience

Organization Category

  • Salt Spring Island Natural Cemetery, Salt Spring Island: Creation of a Sustainable Cemetery that Protects Forested Lands

Special Posthumous Community Stewardship Award

  • Chris Straw (Posthumous), Gabriola Island: Advocacy Against Freighter Anchorages in the Salish Sea

Recipients of the Community Stewardship Awards will be recognized locally at local trust committee and Bowen Island meetings over the coming months.

Since its inception in 2002, Islands Trust Council has recognized 96 individuals and organizations in the Trust Area.
The next award nominations will open in March 2026.

The Islands Trust’s Community Stewardship Awards program recognizes nominees and recipients who demonstrate leadership in preservation and protection of the Islands Trust Area. When reinstating the program for 2022, Islands Trust Council updated the program to better align with Trust Council’s Reconciliation Declaration and amended the program to be offered once per elected term.

Avatar of Salt Spring News

By Salt Spring News

Salt Spring Exchange news and editorial account for general public news, community contributed stories and official news releases.

June 24, 2022 1:16 PM