Voting for the 2019 Salty Awards - The People Have Chosen!

Voting for the Community and Business Awards is Now Closed - The Salt Spring Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce that the Salty Awards for Business and Community will be presented at a Gala Dinner on November 14th at the Harbour House Hotel at 6 pm.

Online voting took place on between October 8 and 25, and once again the number of votes was significantly greater than in the previous two years. 2840 validated ballots were cast for the Business Awards and over 2300 for the nine Community Award categories

Several categories were hotly contested ‐ a dozen or fewer votes separated the top three finalists in several categories ‐ Market Vendor or Artisan, Top Green Business, both Entrepreneur categories (over and under 40), and Top Customer Service. A single vote separated the first and second place Barber, Stylist or Spa Service category and two tiny votes separated the first and second place winners among the 109 Tradespeople that were nominated.

The Salty Awards will be presented at a Gala Dinner on November 14th at the Harbour House Hotel. Tickets are available online.

Finalists for 2019 Community Salty Awards

Server Extraordinaire Funniest Person on Salt Spring Salt Spring’s “Font of All Knowledge”
Jamie Ferguson – Auntie Pesto’s Bob Twaites Dave Phillips
Lauren Klimek – Rock Salt Café Coral Saunders Dr. Malcolm Bond
Lauren Mollin – Barb’s Buns John Bateman John Bateman
Person “Who Goes the Extra Mile” Where to Spend your Last $10 Top First Responder
Andrea Palframan Al’s Gourmet Falafel & Fries Arjuna George
Bryan Dubien Barb’s Buns Chantelle Pohl
Tim @ TJ Beans Lady Minto Thrift Store James Wood
Your Volunteer of Choice Top Live Show or Band Favourite Salt Spring Writer
Bert Beitel (posthumous) GISS Improv Aiden Cassie
Blake Gold Salt John Bateman
Janine Fernandes-Hayden The Buck Dodgers Stringband Toko-pa Turner

Finalists for 2019 Business Salty Awards

Top Young Entrepreneur Under 40 Top Entrepreneur Over 40 Top Customer Service
Billie Woods Alex Lyons – Al’s Gourmet Falafel Barb’s Buns
Erin Morris – The Pottery Anna and Jason Watkins – Beachside Buzzy’s Luncheonette
Jessica Ells (Emmi’s Treasures) Gerda Lattey & Mike Lachelt – Salt Spring Wild Cider Windsor Plywood
Top Health and Wellness Provider Your Choice Restaurant or Food Truck Best Menu Item
Adam Cappuccino Barb’s Buns
Al’s Gourmet Falafel – Falafel Pita with Eggplant
Lady Minto Hospital Buzzy’s Luncheonette Barb’s Buns – Cheese Sticks
Micheline Wong Physiotherapist Pacos Tacos * Buzzy’s Luncheonette- The Hungry Jew
Greatest Trades Person Top Green Business Top Professional Service
Bob Akerman – Akerman Electric Bohemia Consignment Anna Pugh
Erik Lundstrom – Beddis Road Garage Earth Candy Farm Island Savings Credit Union
Graham Outerbridge – Fresco Refrigeration Hemp House Hair Salon Seafirst Insurance
Your Stylist, Barber or Spa Service Top Local or Visitor Experience Top Geek or IT Person
Alaysha Hunsberger – Salt Spring Beauty Bar Kismet Café Christopher Roy
Rachel Doucette – 19B Barbershop Salt Spring Cheese Farm Colton Prevost
Samantha Harron – Hemp House Salon Tree House Café Dave Lettinga – Imagine That Graphics
Favourite Place to Buy Local Top Tuesday or Saturday Market Vendor or Artisan Local Media Choice
Bon Acres Al’s Gourmet Falafel Gulf Islands Driftwood
Country Grocer Backwoods Farm Salt Spring Exchange
Salt Spring Exchange Duck Creek Farm The Fish Bowl
Favourite Farm/Agricultural Business Favourite Non-Profit Top Retail Business
Bon Acres 100 Women Who Care Bohemia Consignment
Bullock Lake Farm Copper Kettle Country Grocer
North End Farm Lady Minto Hospital Auxillary Thrift Shop Windsor Plywood
Greatest New Business (under 3 years) Greatest Business Overall
Axe and Reel Barb’s Buns
Buzzy’s Luncheonette Country Grocer
Francis Bread Windsor Plywood

The Salty Awards are presented by Windsor Plywood in partnership with the Salt Spring Exchange, Pest Control Services Gulf Islands and the Salt Spring Island Chamber of Commerce. For further information, please contact the Chamber office.

October 31, 2019 12:20 PM