Official Election Results

Salt Spring, here are your official, preliminary, election results. These results were posted tonight by Anthony (Tony) Kennedy, Salt Spring's Deputy Chief Election Officer at 9:01 PM on the doors of the Community Gospel Chapel. We were there in person to get you the results as fast as possible. The results are totals from all Salt Spring Island polling stations. The final, official results still need to be verified by the Chief Election Officer in Victoria before they are confirmed as final. It may take a number of days for these results to be finalized and there is a small chance they may change.

See photos below of official results as posted by the Deputy Chief Election officer and detailed break downs of votes by polling station, advance polls and off island polls. Here are the winners:

  • Wayne McIntyre wins for CRD Director
  • Peter Grove and George Grams win for Islands Trust Directors
  • Rob Pingle, Kathy Page and Katherine Byers win for School Trustees

Oh and these guys were all huddled outside in the freezing cold to bring you the results in real-time. Sean Mcintyre from the Driftwood, Gary Brooks from CFSI and Christopher Roy from the Exchange staying warm having fun.

November 19, 2011 9:03 PM

Community Comments

  • Avatar pat says:

    Can you tell us something about why this election used electronic voting? Who made this decision and who paid for it?
    with thanks,

  • Christopher Roy Christopher Roy says:

    Electronic voting is decided at the provincial level with Elections BC - Would contact them if you are looking for more information on why electronic voting machines are used on Salt Spring -

  • Avatar books says:

    Thanks for all your work, guys!

  • Avatar TDP says:

    Yes, thanks for all the hard work keeping us up to date.

  • Avatar lapslide says:

    Does anyone have the total number of eligible voters for these elections? Percentage turnout?